E.tv channels boss resigns - TechCentral

E.tv channels boss resigns


The MD of channels at e.tv, Monde Twala, is leaving the free-to-air commercial broadcaster in the latest of a string of high-level executive changes.

Twala is expected to exit the company in April.

Just over a week ago, insiders said that Twala was expected to say goodbye soon after he got a new job offer.

Twala, an accomplished TV executive, is set to join a “multinational media company”.

“It basically leaves Marlon Davids in charge,” said a source, speaking on condition of anonymity.

Davids has been e.tv’s GM for content, strategy and planning for the last 18 months.

Twala’s e.tv exit is a blow for the broadcaster and adds to the top management changes at eMedia Investments.

The company recently announced that Patrick Conroy is the new MD of the OpenView HD satellite TV platform, effective 1 March, and that Anton Harber will head up the eNCA news channel as editor-in-chief.

Over the last few years, Twala has been overseeing a growing slate of channels, popular local soaps and a collection of steadily expanding local programming. He also helped make e.tv a strong competitor to the SABC in the local TV content space.

Twala joined e.tv from the SABC and was first the executive producer for the channel’s soaps, Backstage and Rhythm City, its now defunct breakfast show Morning Edition, as well as eSibobo. He then became group head for e.tv’s channels in 2009 before taking up the MD title in 2014.

E.tv said a search for a replacement will start immediately.

“Monde’s charismatic and nurturing personality along with his knowledge has played an integral role in the growth of e.tv and across the group,” said Mark Rosin, eMedia Investment’s group chief operating officer.

“I’ve spent 16 extremely happy and fulfilling years at e.tv,” said Twala. “I have experienced many highlights of my career here and close collaboration with many talented colleagues, production partners and stakeholders in and around the business.”


Comments are closed.

© 2009 – 2020 NewsCentral Media