Six more quit SABC board - TechCentral

Six more quit SABC board


President Jacob Zuma on Monday accepted the resignations of most members of the SABC board, including chairman Ben Ngubane and his deputy Thami ka Plaatjie.

In the wake of Ngubane and Ka Plaatjie’s joint resignation letter last week, Zuma had received six more and accepted all, presidential spokesman Mac Maharaj said.

The board members who quit were Lumko Mtimde, John Danana, Cedric Gina, Desmond Golding, Cawe Mahlati and Noluthando Gosa.

“The president has accepted their resignations and thanked them for their contribution during their tenure as board members of the SABC,” Maharaj said.

“The president has requested the minister of communications, Dina Pule, to liaise with the national assembly regarding the process to fill the vacancies left by the members who have resigned.”

The exodus followed the latest row between Ngubane and the board. They had reportedly clashed over the tenure of acting chief operating officer Hlaudi Motsoeneng.

The Democratic Alliance said the public broadcaster had been brought to its knees by political meddling.

“The latest resignations render the board inoperable as only three directors of the 12 have not resigned: Suzanne Vos, Pippa Green and Claire McNeil,” DA communications spokesman Marian Shinn said.  — Sapa

Comments are closed.

© 2009 – 2019 NewsCentral Media